Try Vegan is a new campaign from BE Vegan, the Belgian Vegan Society. With this campagne BE Vegan tries to help you to eat and cook completely vegan for 4 weeks. They do that via personal communication, three e-mails per week and a facebook group where you can get support from others.
What is seitan?
Seitan is a much-used ingredient in the plant-based kitchen. They’ve been eating it for centuries in Japan, China and Russia. The name seitan comes from Japanese “sei” and “tan” which means “made of” and “proteins”. Seitan is made of wheat- or speltgluten. Gluten are proteins that are naturally present in different kinds of grains, like wheat and spelt. It’s the gluten that gives the grains a firm structure and which keeps bread firmly together for example. Since seitan is mainly made of gluten, it’s not suitable for people who are gluten intolerant. For others it’s a good source of protein since it’s made of 25% of protein.
How to make seitan
Seitan is basically made by dough made of wheat flour and water. By using cold water the bran and starch are being kneaded and washed out of the dough. This is a time-consuming process. If you’re making your own seitan, it might be easier to buy seitanfix or glutenflour. These are purely made of gluten and you only have to add some water /vegetable stock and spices to make seitan. When you have made your seitan dough, you have to cook or steam it, which is mostly done in vegetable stock with soy sauce. If the whole process is too time-consuming for you, different kinds of seitan are available in bio-shops, vegan shops and in some super markets.
When to use seitan
Thanks to the meat-texture of seitan, you can use it in different kinds of recipes as a meat-replacement. Think of stew, vol-au-vent, wok dishes, barbecue or simply seitan as it is baked, cooked or stewed. You name it!
Take a look at some of the seitan recipes we currently have available on our website.